Giving the truck a little more spark

Posted: December 13, 2015 in Cars
IMG_0295

Spark plugs should never get this bad before being replaced!

 

By looking at this photo, you can see that the spark plugs in the truck were pretty old and rusted. I had already replaced three this summer, and finally got around to changing out the other five. Along with the new plug wires, rotor and distributor cap, as well as the spark igniter and ignition cylinder, much of the electrical system has now been replaced.

I also got a sweet new set of all-season Goodyear tires to get ready for winter, and tore off the old cracked, white mud flaps. I like the look of it, so I didn’t put new flaps on.

The patch I put on the hole in the aspirator tube fell off again, so I went to O’Reilly Auto and found a specialized putty made just for exhaust systems that gets harder under extreme heat. After slathering that on the tube, the hole seems to be finally plugged. There is still a little exhaust noise where the manifold meets the engine block that I’d like to see if I can wrap with tape, but overall the engine is much quieter than it was.

Now that the engine is quieter, I’m noticing some wind noise from the passenger window, so I’m going to put some additional weather stripping in that side and see if it helps. The driver’s door still rattles a bit too, and I think it is due to a hinge which has developed a little play in it. I’m going to try some liquid weld on the hinge to see if that will seal it to the door frame better.

IMG_0296

The current look of the truck with window wind deflectors, new raised, white-letter tires and tonneau cover removed. Note that the mud flaps seen in this picture have since been removed.

Leave a comment